Day 9 – Going Home

Sunday, June 14th.

Where did the time go? Was I really in Peru for 8 days?

One of the best parts about this trip was the fact that we all had our trip guides which had sections for us to use as journals. I used to keep a diary as a kid, but I think we all get out of that habit as adults unless we are “writers” and just feel the need to write to unpack our thoughts and emotions. 

Well, there were plenty of those on this trip! Once again, we drove by the park where we shared fun times with our sponsored children as we made our way to the airport. So many thoughts of what I had experienced there and what God had shown me. One thing I don’t think I really expected was the closeness and the fellowship of my fellow travelers during this whole trip. It was a wonderful experience to meet so many new people with a shared purpose, and the joy that we shared was overwhelming! (I’d like to thank those in my family group and our trip as our shared experiences have gotten me to venture into an Adult Bible Fellowship at church so I could experience that same closeness! There really is no replacement for being in the company of those who love the Lord.)

I realized as we made our way into the airport and got checked in that I wasn’t really ready to leave. I think we were there just long enough to start to really “understand” the country of Peru. As our trip leader, Sean, had mentioned before, those who have no possessions really don’t “possess” anything. They are very willing to give of what they have even though it may be little or just to share what little they are given.

Somehow the trip back to the US seemed a lot shorter than the flight down. (Funny story: I just learned why that is.) We all made our way back to the US and into customs together. While gathering our bags, we said our goodbyes while some of us traveled to other airline hubs in groups. My next flight was to Atlanta which I shared with at least 4 other people from our trip. After that, I flew to Indianapolis alone. It took me a while to get the flight; weather delayed takeoff for a long time so instead of arriving in Indianapolis at 11:35 PM, I ended up landing around 12:26 AM!

My roommate Kristie & I at the Miami airport shortly after retrieving our bags.
My roommate Kristie & I at the Miami airport shortly after retrieving our bags.
This is my plane from ATL to IND. I was impressed because it was brand new! (I also got to the watch the Delta safety video, and you really should check it out on YouTube if you haven't seen it.)
This is my plane from ATL to IND. I was impressed because it was brand new! (I also got to the watch the Delta safety video, and you really should check it out on YouTube if you haven’t seen it.)

I am glad that a few of us are close in proximity so maybe we’ll be able to visit once in a while! Part of my family group are near Chicago, and my roommate lives in Lexington!

Now that I’m home, I’m really excited to do more for Compassion, and I hope I can be a good ambassador because these kids need someone to speak up for them! I think everyone I traveled with feels the same way. Most importantly, because this was my first trip out of the US, God taught me that if you step out in faith, He’ll take care of the rest. Looking back, I have no idea why I was nervous about leaving the country. Granted, I did it on a group trip where details were taken care of for me, but it was no less nerve-wracking for me.

So what now? I guess I start planning my next trip to Peru in a couple of years! If you want to know more about sponsor tours or other trips (Cause Treks!), please visit the Get Involved page. No matter who you are or what your interests are, God can use you to change the lives of children all over the world!

As far as this blog goes, I’ll probably keep it up and possibly post updates about Angely or things I’m doing with Compassion. I’ll think of something!

Many of you have shared this blog with others or mentioned to me how much you’ve enjoyed it. I’m so glad!! Like I said at the start, I don’t consider myself a writer, but I’m glad I could help. I was also just hoping I could help myself remember things when memories seem to fade almost immediately. It’s only been 11 days since I returned, and it feels like so much longer. Even if you don’t start a blog, I encourage everyone to write down the memories in detail soon so that they stick with you even better! Seeing my pictures of Angely here and on my fridge just make me that much anxious to return to her. I miss hugging her and telling her how special she is. I knew meeting her would be great, but I didn’t expect it to be as overwhelming and as powerful as it was.

So what are you doing? Are you making a difference in your community, in a sponsored child’s life, or at work/school? Whatever it is, I hope that God blesses it because even the smallest thing can make a big difference. Go sponsor a child, and thanks for reading!

See? Her nails turned out so pretty!
See? Her nails turned out so pretty!
Leave a Reply

